University of Tokyo


President: Professor Makoto Gonokami

APRU Senior Staff Contact:
Masashi Haneda, Executive Vice President



The University of Tokyo (Todai) was established in 1877 as the first national university in Japan. As a leading research university, Todai offers courses in essentially all academic disciplines at both undergraduate and graduate levels and conducts research across the full spectrum of academic activity. Todai has a faculty of over 4,000 and a total enrollment of about 29,000, evenly divided between undergraduate and graduate students. Todai is known for the excellence of its faculty and students and ever since its foundation many of its graduates have gone on to become leaders in government, business, and the academic world.

The university organization consists of the College of Arts and Sciences, nine faculties, 15 graduate schools and 11 institutes. There are also 21 university-wide centers open to scholars of all departments and faculties of Todai; several of these centers are also open to scholars from all universities in Japan. The university-wide centers were created with the aim of facilitating interfaculty collaboration and interdisciplinary research, and often with specific research problems in mind.

In 2007 Todai celebrated 130 years of academic tradition with a forward-looking program marking the efforts of the university to transform itself into a leading global academic institution, standing at the forefront of the times, adapting to the new, internationalized and competitive environment and to the needs of higher education and research today.