APRU joins industry & government in shaping the eSports ecosystem in Hong Kong

APRU joins industry & government in shaping the eSports ecosystem in Hong Kong

July 16, 2019

Cyberport, a government-run incubator for the digital tech industry, unveiled a new e-sports arena at the new venue that can host up to 10 players and as many as 200 spectators during the 2019 Digital Entertainment Leadership Forum (DELF): Powering up a vibrant esports ecosystem. The new venue will host international tournaments as well as local contests, which will help Hong Kong boost its credentials as a regional gaming hub.

Sherman Cheng, APRU Director (Finance & Administration) shaped the discussion on “Wellness and Professional Development” through a discussion about the APRU University E-sports International Initiative (UEII). UEII connects 11 universities across the Pacific Rim through an international e-sports organization. The aim is to develop a comprehensive strategy for a coordinating body that will serve as a platform for its members to help shape universities’ relationships with the e-sports industry and grow their respective e-sports programs including student competitions, educational programs, research, equity initiatives, and employment opportunities.

With Cyberport’s mission to facilitate robust growth of e-sports and digital entertainment industry, the Forum brought together leaders to better understand the value-chain of this booming sector, connect key stakeholders in the field, and unlock infinite business opportunities.

The DELF 2019 attracted over 700 participants from the industry and public to hear from over 40 e-sports icons, influencers, industry elites and celebrity gamers from around the world who shared insight on the innovative evolution of digital entertainment sector focusing on e-sports. The Forum highlights included the unveiling of the e-sports venue, a game zone, e-sports decoder, start-up showcase, celebrity invitational game, and backstage tour.

DELF 2019 also kick starts a month-long digital entertainment extravaganza embracing an array of exciting large-scale e-sports and gaming events.

The Founding Members of UEII are: Far Eastern Federal University; Keio University; Nanyang Technological University, Singapore; National University of Singapore; Tecnológico de Monterrey; The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology; The University of British Columbia, University of California, Los Angeles; University of Southern California; University of Washington; Yonsei University.

<<  Back to Articles