Loading Events

Asia-Pacific Conference on Innovation and Entrepreneurship Ecosystems

December 2 - December 5

Visit the official Conference Website >>

Register now!

Enquiries: apciee2019@ust.hk

Download the APCIEE Flyer.







World-class research universities are the incubators of scientific and technological discoveries. They are one of the essential drivers for the growth of innovation. In the Asia Pacific, there are a growing number of research universities that are ranked among the global top 100, and they are engaged in cutting-edge research that is vital to achieving the vision of creating innovation and entrepreneurship hubs in the region.

Three leading APRU universities, HKUST, The Chinese University of Hong Kong and The University of Hong Kong will host, in partnership with APRU,  the inaugural Asia-Pacific Conference on Innovation and Entrepreneurship Ecosystems (APCIEE) this coming December.

The conference aims at creating a venue for critical dialogue focusing on nurturing innovation and entrepreneurship ecosystems and inspiring collaboration across disciplines, sectors, and geographies. In particular, it will focus on Hong Kong’s role in the region as a centre for research, technology, innovation and entrepreneurship.

Bringing together thought leadership and key stakeholders, the conference will bridge the knowledge gap between researchers, policy-makers, business leaders, university leaders, entrepreneurs and investors on the pressing issues of converting existing strengths of research universities into resources that catalyze innovation.

The Institute for Public Policy (IPP) at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) has taken up the main organizational role for the conference.

Conference Features

  • Keynote lectures by
    • Professor Harvey Lodish, Founder of Genzyme, Whitehead Institute, MIT;
    • Professor Peretz Lavie, President of the Technion, Israel;
    • Dr Raj Thampuran, Special Advisor to A*STAR, Singapore;
    • Professor Tieniu TAN, Vice Minister, Liaison Office of the Central People’s Government in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) of China;
    • Dr David Chung, Under Secretary for Innovation & Technology, Government of the HKSAR; and
    • APRU Senior Leaders.
  • APRU Presidents’ forum;
  • Presentations on the area of innovation and entrepreneurship ecosystems;
  • Exhibition of research commercialization and signature start-ups;
  • A two-day field trip to the Greater Bay Area (GBA).

Call for Papers

We seek submissions for papers—from academics and successful practitioners—on the area of innovation and entrepreneurship ecosystems in a broad sense, encompassing topics related, but not limited to: –

  • The roles of research universities in accelerating the development of innovation hubs
  • University-industry-government collaboration for innovation-led development
  • Fostering entrepreneurship for enhancing the innovation ecosystems
  • Smart cities as innovation hubs
  • Achieving entrepreneurial success in innovative technological areas in the Greater Bay Area (GBA)

To submit a paper proposal, please email an abstract of no more than 500 words to apciee2019@ust.hk no later than July 15, 2019. The APCIEE organizing committee will review the abstracts and announce selection results by email one month after the submission deadline.

Conference Fee

USD500 including all sessions, lunches and GBA field trip. Please refer to the website for Concessionary fees.

Important Dates

  • June 15, 2019 Abstract Submission Deadline
  • July 15, 2019 Notification of Abstract Acceptance
  • November 15, 2019 Full Paper Submission Deadline
  • December 2-5, 2019 Conference and Exhibition

Executive Committee:

Professor Wei Shyy President, HKUST

Professor Rocky Tuan, Vice-Chancellor and President, CUHK

Professor Xiang Zhang, President and Vice-Chancellor, HKU

Dr Christopher Tremewan Secretary General, APRU

Local Organizing Committee


Professor Joseph H.W. Lee, Senior Advisor to the President, HKUST

Dr Christopher Tremewan Secretary General, APRU

Committee members:

Professor Andy Hor, Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research), HKU

Professor Wai Yee Chan, Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Development), CUHK

Professor Gary Sheung-han Chan, Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering Director, Entrepreneurship Centre, HKUST

Professor Naubahar Sharif Division of Public Policy, HKUST

Mr Maximilian Y.K. Ma, Chairman, MaBelle Jewellery Co. Ltd. Former Council Member of HKUST

Ex Officio:

Professor Ye Qi, Director, Institute for Public Policy, HKUST

Professor Xun Wu, Head, Division of Public Policy, HKUST