APRU 16th Annual Presidents Meeting

APM 2012 Group 2
Hosted by: University of Oregon, USA. 
Date: June 27 - 29, 2012

The 16th Annual Presidents Meeting (APM) was hosted by the University of Oregon from June 27 to 29, 2012 in Eugene, Oregon with the theme, "Shaping Asia-Pacific Higher Education in the 21st Century".

The meeting focused on the proposed APRU strategic framework, with plenary sessions and group discussions based on three proposed thematic priorities within the framework: "Shaping Asia-Pacific Higher Education and Research", "Partnering on Solutions to Asia-Pacific Challenges", and "Creating Asia-Pacific Global Leaders". The APM also featured a Presidents' Open Forum on "Leading Universities in Times of Change and Crisis". 

APM delegates were also invited to participate in a number of networking activities in Portland prior to the start of the official program. These included a guided tour of Nike's headquarters, a visit to the International Rose Test Garden and a tour of the Portland Museum Art. During the course of the meeting, delegates had the opportunity to watch some of the US Olympic Track and Field trials and attend the opening night of the world-renowned Oregon Bach Festival. 

A total of 23 presidents and 66 delegates from 32 member institutions participated in this year's APM.


Opening Plenary: APRU: The Next Phase
Session Chair: Robert M. BERDAHL, President, University of OregonSpeakers:
  1. Henry T. YANG, Chairman, Association of Pacific Rim Universities and Chancellor, University of California, Santa Barbara
  2. John SEXTON, President, New York University
  3. Christopher TREMEWAN, Secretary General, Association of Pacific Rim Universities
Session I: Shaping Asia-Pacific Higher Education and Research
Session Chair: Gene D. BLOCK, Chancellor, University of California, Los Angeles
  1. Jamil SALMI, Global Tertiary Education Expert (Former World Bank Education Coordinator)
  2. Stephen J. TOOPE, President and Vice-Chancellor, University of British Columbia
  3. Wei YANG, President, Zhejiang University
Session II: Partnering on Solutions to Asia-Pacific Challenges
Session Chair: Tony F. CHAN, President, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  1. Charles F. KENNEL, Member, APRU Sustainability and Climate Change Program Committee and Distinguished Professor, Emeritus at Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego
  2. Bob CHOQUETTE, Program Manager, Sustainable Year Program, University of Oregon
  3. Jonathan M. SAMET, Chair, APRU Global Health Program Committee, Professor and Flora L. Thornton Chair, Department of Preventive Medicine, Keck School of Medicine, and Director, USC Institute for Global Health University of Southern California
Session III: Creating Asia-Pacific Global Leaders
Session Chair: Hiroshi MATSUMOTO, President, Kyoto University
  1. Linda P.B. KATEHI, Chancellor, University of California, Davis
  2. Marye Anne FOX, Chancellor, University of California, San Diego introducing Geraldine RICHMOND, Founder and Chair, Committee on the Advancement of Women Chemists (COACh), University of Oregon
  3. Dennis GALVAN, Vice Provost, International Affairs, University of Oregon
Presidents' Open Forum: Leading Universities in Times of Change and Crisis
Session Chair: Michael DRAKE, Chancellor, University of California, Irvine
  1. Ian YOUNG, Vice-Chancellor and President, Australian National University
  2. Atsushi SEIKE, President, Keio University
  3. Byoung-Chul KIM, President, Korea University
  4. Susumu SATOMI, President, Tohoku University
  5. Víctor PÉREZ Vera, Rector, University of Chile
  6. Robert M. BERDAHL, President, University of Oregon
  7. C. L. Max NIKIAS, President, University of Southern California
  8. Michael K. YOUNG, President, University of Washington
APRU Business Meeting
Presentation by Far Eastern Federal University: Invitation to APRU Annual Presidents Meeting 2013