Sun Yat-sen University

President: Professor Luo Jun

Senior International Leader: Professor Xiao Haipeng, Executive Vice-President for International Affairs


Sun Yat-sen University was founded in 1924 by Dr. Sun Yat-sen, a pioneer of China’s democratic revolution. Located in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, the University has five campuses in three cities of Guangzhou, Zhuhai and Shenzhen, and 10 affiliated hospitals.

Built on a solid multidisciplinary foundation of humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, medical sciences, and engineering, SYSU is one of the Chinese universities with a relatively complete range of disciplines. In 2020, ESI listed 20 SYSU disciplines among the top 1% worldwide and second in China.

The University consists of 65 schools and departments, offering 136 bachelor degree programs, 92 master degree programs, and 55 doctoral degree programs. SYSU is home to 4,255 faculty members, including 20 academicians of Chinese Academy of Science and Engineering. SYSU has an enrollment of 32,192 undergraduates and 24,110 graduates.

At SYSU, our scientific research is orientated towards the academic frontiers, the national strategic needs, and the demands from the regional economic and social development. And SYSU has encouraged research and innovation through the construction of large projects, large platforms and large teams.

Sun Yat-sen University is developing into a world-class university and a global center of learning.