The University of Tokyo

President: Professor Makoto Gonokami

APRU Senior International Leader:
Professor Masashi Haneda, Executive Vice President


The University of Tokyo (UTokyo) was established in 1877 as the first national university in Japan. As a leading research university, UTokyo offers courses in essentially all academic disciplines at both undergraduate and graduate levels and conducts research across the full spectrum of academic activity. UTokyo has 4,000 faculty members and a total enrollment of about 29,000 students, evenly divided between undergraduates and graduates. UTokyo is known for the excellence of its faculty and students and ever since its foundation, many of its graduates have gone on to become leaders in government, business, and the academic world.

Currently, UTokyo is comprised of 10 faculties and colleges for undergraduate studies, 15 Graduate Schools, 11 affiliated research institutes (including the Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology), 13 University-wide centers, three affiliated libraries and two institutes for advanced study; several of these centers are also open to scholars from all universities in Japan. The university-wide centers were created with the aim of facilitating interfaculty collaboration and interdisciplinary research, and often with specific research problems in mind.