Keio University


President: Professor Akira Haseyama 

APRU Senior Staff Contact:
Professor Jiro Kokuryo, Vice-President for International Collaboration


Founded in 1858 by Yukichi Fukuzawa, a highly respected intellectual leader and visionary, Keio University is Japan's first modern institution of higher learning. Guided by the founding principles of Fukuzawa, Keio seeks to nurture future leaders of society. Over the last century and a half, the university has established itself as a leader in Japan and Asia through its continued commitment to education, research and medicine.

Keio's six main campuses are spread across the greater Tokyo area and are home to 33,000 students and 4,800 faculty and administrative staff. In addition to ten undergraduate faculties and fourteen graduate schools, the Keio comprehensive educational system also includes one elementary school, three junior high schools and five senior high schools, including a high school in New York. Keio has six overseas offices and centers in New York, London, Seoul, Singapore, Beijing and Shanghai.

Keio University celebrated its 150th anniversary in 2008. Its commemorative projects designed to cultivate future leaders have included the establishment of the Graduate School of Media Design and the Graduate School of System Design Management, new facilities for education and research, and the introduction of the "Design the Future" Award for International Students which is the most generous scholarship of its kind in Japan.