University of Chinese Academy of Sciences

President: Professor Li Shushen

APRU Senior International Leader: Professor Wu Yue-Liang, Academic Vice President



Located in Beijing, UCAS (University of Chinese Academy of Sciences) is a university established with the approval of Ministry of Education of PRC, focusing on graduate education. It boasts many firsts in new China: the first doctorate in science, the first doctorate in engineering, the first female student awarded a doctoral degree, and the first research student awarded double doctoral degrees in China all graduating from this university.

Being the largest graduate education institution, UCAS’ main task has long been graduate education. Up to December 2016, the number of UCAS postgraduate students is 45,479, including 23,289 doctoral students, 22,190 master students, 1,058 undergraduates and 1321 international students including 873 doctoral students, ranking first in China. In 2012 UCAS began to enroll undergraduate students with the mission of cultivating innovative leading talents in science and technology for the future of the nation.

UCAS is authorized to confer master and doctorate degree of all science disciplines and 90% engineering disciplines. UCAS boasts a team of highly qualified faculty consisting of distinguished professors from institutes of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) who are strong at both teaching and research. UCAS also provides first-class research condition for students to carry out their scientific research. Up to the end of 2016, UCAS has more than 11, 000 supervisors, including 283 CAS Members and 6,432 doctoral supervisors.

Based on CAS’ extensive international scientific cooperations, UCAS has established close ties and partnerships with Columbia University, University of California, Santa Barbara,école Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Australian National University, the Max Planck Society in Germany, the National Center for Scientific Research in France and many other world-renowned universities. It has jointly established the Sino-Danish College in China with the Danish Ministry of Science and Education and eight Danish public universities.