Led by the University of Melbourne with Technológico de Monterrey, The University of Auckland, and APRU, the Indigenous Knowledges Working Group aims to bring together the work of APRU members in multilateral collaborations to share knowledge, build connections between researchers, and enhance teaching programs in indigenous and First Nations studies.

Participating Universities:

  • Keio University
  • Technológico de Monterrey
  • The University of British Columbia
  • The University of Melbourne
  • The University of Queensland
  • Universidad San Francisco de Quito
  • Universiti Malaya
  • University of Hawai’i at Mānoa
  • University of Oregon
  • University of the Philippines

Strengthening Insights

Many APRU members have world-leading departments and programs in the areas of Indigenous, First Nations, Māori, Pacific, Native American, and Latin American Studies. Over the last two decades, more leading universities have introduced international/ comparative dimensions to their Indigenous and First Nations programs.

The APRU Indigenous Knowledges Network would be a platform to hold annual events and explore opportunities to collaborate and expand into the Asia-Pacific region by focusing on key themes such as the impact of climate change, sustainability, language preservation, education, cultural diversity and identity, among others.

Thematic areas that are of interest could include:

  • Fire and disaster management
  • Alternative approaches to Indigenous health
  • Indigenous languages
  • Recognizing place: Promoting Indigenous culture on campus
  • Indigenous legal practices
  • Culture, heritage, and the creative arts
  • Equity and diversity: discrimination in universities
  • Indigenous staff development

Address: APRU International University Centre, Unit 902, Cyberport 2, 100 Cyberport Road, Hong Kong
Email: [email protected]
Telephone: +852 2117 7060
Fax: +852 2117 7080