APRU Sustainable Waste Management Global Lecture Series

APRU Sustainable Waste Management Global Lecture Series is designed to provide a sound foundation in basic principles and unify research across ecology to conservation and environmental health to waste management with a focus on the sustainability and Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG).

This lecture series is part of the key activities of the APRU Sustainable Waste Management Program that will be held from March to December 2021. The aim is to provide insights of cutting-edge research to the network. Experts from diverse fields and studies will contribute to individual lectures that generate a broad overview of the subject area.

The series is open to academics and students. Participants will be able to learn from and interact with world-renowned experts through a series of lectures delivered via a real-time video conference on Zoom.

The following topics will be discussed with a focus on the E pillar within ESG.

  • Conservation
  • Ecology
  • Environmental Chemistry
  • Environmental Health
  • Environmental Resource Management
  • Sustainable Waste Management
  • Water Science
  • Global Sustainability
  • Life Science Assessment
Prof. Jessika Trancik
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Date & Time Registration

31st March at 7:00 PM (Boston)

1st April at 8:00 AM (Seoul)

Title : Data-based Models to Accelerate Clean Energy Innovation

Jessika Trancik is a Professor in the Institute for Data, Systems, and Society at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Her research examines the dynamic costs, performance, and environmental impacts of energy systems to inform climate policy and accelerate beneficial and equitable technology innovation. Her projects focus on all energy services including electricity, transportation, heating, and industrial processes. This work spans solar energy, wind energy, energy storage, low-carbon fuels, electric vehicles, and nuclear fission among other technologies.
Prof. Trancik received her B.S. from Cornell University and her Ph.D. from the University of Oxford as a Rhodes Scholar. She is currently an external professor at the Santa Fe Institute and was formerly at Columbia University’s Earth Institute, and at WSP International/UNOPS (now Interpeace) in Geneva.

Prof. Ah-Hyung (Alissa) Park
Columbia University in the City of New York

Date & Time Registration

20th April at 8:00 PM (New York)

21st April at 9:00 AM (Seoul)

Watch the video here.

Title: Towards Sustainable Energy and Materials: Carbon Capture, Utilization and Storage

Professor Park is the Lenfest Chair in Applied Climate Science at Columbia University and is also the Director of the Lenfest Center for Sustainable Energy, where she researches issues in energy, environmental engineering and particle technology. Park has received numerous honors and distinctions throughout her career as a researcher. Recently she has been appointed as a member of the International Committee at the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, where she has also been elected as the Vice-Chair (2009-2011) and Chair (2011-2013) of the Fluidization and Fluid-Particle Systems Group and Treasurer (2010-present) of the Particle Technology Forum. She has also recently received the James Lee Young Investigator Award, the NSF Career Award, and a nomination for the Packard Fellowship. In 2011, she was the distinguished speaker at the Womensphere Emerging Leaders Global Summit. A more complete list of her many accomplishments can be found on her website.
A graduate of the University of British Columbia, Professor Park received a Bachelor of Applied Science with distinction and a Masters of Applied Science, both in Chemical and Biological Engineering. She received a PhD degree in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering from the Ohio State University.

Dr. Carlos Antonio Guerra
Integrative Biodiversity Research (iDiv)
Prof. David Wardle
Nanyang Technological University
Prof. Johannes Lehmann
Cornell University
Prof. Jinyue Yan
Royal Institute of Technology (KTH)
Prof. Mellissa Withers
University of Southern California
Prof. Thomas Højlund Christensen
Technical University of Denmark
Ange Nzihou
IMT Mines Albi
Prof. Clara Santato
Polytechnique Montréal
Prof. Amar K. Mohanty
University of Guelph
Prof. Yen Wah Tong
National University of Singapore
Prof. Jörg Rinklebe
Bergische Universität Wuppertal