Host University
About the Programme
Program Features
Nomination & Eligibility
Programme Fee

APRU Undergraduate Leaders’ Program 2024: Sustainable Development in a Fast-Changing Metropolis

Shanghai Jiao Tong University is proud to host the Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU) Undergraduate Leaders’ Program (ULP) in July 2024. Themed “Sustainable Development in a Fast-Changing Metropolis,” this program is a beacon of inspiration and learning for the leaders of tomorrow. Set against the dynamic and evolving backdrop of Shanghai, a city that epitomizes the blend of tradition with cutting-edge modernity, the program offers a unique window into the challenges and opportunities of urban sustainability. The focus of the program is on the United Nations Sustainable Development Goal (SDG 11): Sustainable Cities and Communities, as well as cross-cutting goals on food security (SDG 2), green mobility (SDG 7), and sustainable ecosystems (SDGs 14, 15). As the world grapples with the complexities of urban development that is inclusive, safe, resilient, and sustainable, this program stands as a pivotal platform for fostering a deep and nuanced understanding of these critical issues.


Program Date: 7 to 18 July, 2024

Theme: Sustainable Development in a Fast-Changing Metropolis

Location: Shanghai

Host: Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Application Deadline: 8 April, 2024

Visit SJTU ULP 2024 website to learn more about the program

Number of Participants: 50 – 70 undergraduate students from across APRU member universities

Program highlights:

  • Workshops and presentations: Guest Speakers will include experts from academia, industry, and government offices.
  • Collaborative Learning: Emphasis on teamwork and cross-cultural communication.
  • Hands-on Experience: Real-world case studies and site visits.
  • Cultural Exchange: Opportunities for students to share insights from their own cities.


Scholarship Opportunities: Up to 6 scholarships, each equivalent to full amount of the program fee will be awarded to candidates with strong background. To learn more contact [email protected]

Certificate: A certificate will be issued to each participant upon successful completion of the program.


Visit SJTU ULP 2024 website to learn more about the program


The responsible staff from each APRU member university may nominate up to five students for the program and list the names in the order of preference. At least two students from each member universities will be admitted. If there would be spaces for more students, selections will be made from the rest of the nominated student based on the students’ credentials.

Nomination and application procedures:

  1. Universities select and nominate up to 5 students to SJTU at by 1 April.

  2. SJTU emails the nominated students and send them the online application link as soon as the nomination is received.

  3. Students complete their applications by  8 April.

  4. SJTU will inform the students and the APRU representative about their selection within one week after the application is submitted. Latest announcement by 11 April.

  5. Admission and visa application documents are issued and send to the representatives at the member universities;

  6. Students apply for visas.



  • Full-time undergraduate students from all disciplines currently registered at an APRU member university are welcome.
  • Students must have a good command of the English language.


For further enquiries and follow ups, students may contact SJTU via email [email protected]

Cost per student: 4,680.00 RMB (USD 650.00 )

Program fee includes:

  • Accommodation
  • Shuttle bus service during the program
  • Field trips and one-day excursion
  • Welcome reception and opening ceremony
  • Administrative fees.


Expenses covered by participants:

  • International travels
  • Visa application fees
  • Insurance throughout program
  • Meals
  • Expenses on the free day
  • Other personal expenses during the program.


For more information, please contact [email protected]



(Name and title of contact person, please)

[email protected]